RSS

Diaspora’s new features

01 Sep

One thing I note now is that I am spending more time on diaspora than any other social network I use. The reason are as follows

  1. Diaspora has quality people in it. People in it are freedom loving and quiet able to think out of the box.
  2. Diaspora looks clean and is easy to use
  3.  Its fast evolving
One thing diaspora leads over facebook and twitter is its innovation

Great UI for posting your thought

Just look at the UI. It has got a camera icon that when clicked helps you to upload a picture into post. This feature now I see it in twitter. Next you can see a green button that lets you to share with only certain group of people called aspects. For example you could group all your school friends into an aspect and share with only them. These aspects were copied by google+ and is now called circles in it. You can share your post with multiple aspects too.

You can link your twitter, facebook and tumbler accounts to diaspora, and right from it (diaspora) you can post your thought to multiple social networks. This feature is already found in twitter where when you tweet, it gets posted on to your facebook wall, but twitter does not give you a choice weather or not that post should be posted on facebook or not (by default it gets posted baring retweets and mentions). On this count diaspora leads.

Another new addition to diaspora is its markdown. Yup you can now type in mark down, see this shot where I have tested it!

Diaspora now supports markdown

This feature is yet to come on facebook. I think google+ hasn’t got this one yet.

Music Sharing

We all love music, we like to share them. Diaspora supports inline music sharing. Just look, I just put the URL of a music track and diaspora let me play / listen music right away from its website.

music sharing on diaspora

This feature I think rocks and is not available in any other social network.

Diaspora offers better freedom than other social networks. Including complete deletion of your account from its server, just in case. It has greatest privacy feature. You can post a message that can only be viewed by your family members and not by any other, thus your privacy is well guarded.

If you are a techie and have resources enough, you can set up your own diaspora server, thus getting full control of your data. Finally diaspora is a free software, any one can examine its source code and understand how it works. So chances for fraud and secret spying is almost nil.

Hope you people try out this excellent software. For those who wish to get an invite from diaspora post your email ID as comment to this post. I will be glad to invite you.

 
 

25 responses to “Diaspora’s new features

  1. Matt Harwood

    September 1, 2011 at 1:55 PM

    Great overview, thanks!

    Would love an invite please? 🙂

     
  2. Sabbir Ali

    September 2, 2011 at 8:58 AM

    Diaspora is the best. Google plus is a copy of Diaspora.

     
  3. renedox

    September 4, 2011 at 10:09 PM

    An invite would be awesome!

     
  4. Jose Luis

    September 4, 2011 at 10:13 PM

    It’s already a beta or it’s alpha yet??

    Would you be so kind to invite me??

     
  5. Luke

    September 4, 2011 at 10:16 PM

    Great introduction. I’ve been waiting for it. I’d certainly like an invitation. Thank you!

     
  6. Marie

    September 4, 2011 at 10:16 PM

    In case you run out of invites, folks can also sign up on a public pod and since it’s a distributed system you’re still part of ‘diaspora’. You can find public pods here: http://podupti.me/ and here: http://podup.sargodarya.de/

    I signed up on diasp.org a couple of weeks ago, when I found out about that option. I had been waiting for an invite for several weeks… It looked like it was the closest one with an https — depending on where you are others may be closer.

     
  7. Stewart X Addison (@sxa555)

    September 4, 2011 at 10:25 PM

    To claim “inline music” is only available in Diaspora is highly misleading, and not good for the reputation of the project. The thing you’re referring to appears to be for direct links to MP3 files (and the widget doesn’t isplay for me in Chrome). Most people won’t havedirect MP3 links, and if they did they’d probably be illegal, whereas facebook will happily embed music from Youtube, Soundcloud etc. which are the services people are likely to want to share from.
    That’s not really a unique killer feature I’m afraid.

     
  8. Hernán Sedano

    September 4, 2011 at 10:50 PM

    Great article, I really want try it, could you invite me?
    Tks

     
  9. Ariën Holthuizen

    September 4, 2011 at 10:51 PM

    As someone who’s working on developing even better Facebook integration, I’d love to get an invite. Mostly for testing.

     
  10. Parminder Singh

    September 4, 2011 at 11:57 PM

    I want invite, plz brother.

     
  11. tchalvak

    September 5, 2011 at 12:17 AM

    I’d like to try it out.

     
  12. Allen

    September 5, 2011 at 4:29 AM

    Diaspora sounds awesome. I didnt realize how much google is like it. I would love to start using it If I could get in the beta.

     
  13. Juan Carlos

    September 5, 2011 at 8:51 AM

    Great features!. I would like a invite too :).

     
  14. andreas

    September 5, 2011 at 9:49 AM

    Sounds really interest, can I try it?

     
  15. Avinash Sonee

    September 5, 2011 at 12:19 PM

    Invite me plz!

     
  16. Amit

    September 5, 2011 at 2:05 PM

    I would like an invite too. Thanks!

     
  17. Samuel V.

    September 5, 2011 at 2:51 PM

    An invitation would be appreciated 🙂

     
  18. lonkeknol

    September 5, 2011 at 7:15 PM

    I’d like an invite please. Thanks!

     
  19. Ursus

    September 5, 2011 at 10:33 PM

    I’d like an invite as well. Thanks in advance 🙂

     
  20. Kir

    September 6, 2011 at 4:19 AM

    I’d love one please!

     
  21. Diaspora Guy

    September 7, 2011 at 11:36 AM

    get an account here: https://diasp.org no need to wait for an invite! David Morley maintains the pod and is doing a really fantastic job.

     
  22. Mark

    September 7, 2011 at 8:17 PM

    i would love an invite please and thank you 🙂

     
  23. norbert rovira

    September 19, 2011 at 8:38 AM

    Great post!! I would like to get an invite.

     
  24. Rich

    September 25, 2011 at 5:38 PM

    Great post Karthikeyan A K – one question though – do you have a plug-in on your browser to play mp3s? I have an account but only a link is displayed (no player as seen in your example image) – when I had a look at your post, there was no player either.

     
    • karthikeyanblogs

      September 27, 2011 at 5:02 AM

      It works on google chrome in which audio tags are supported for even MP3’s, firefox does not. Firefox supports only pure free OGG format.

       

Leave a Reply

 
